NZMA Annual Awards

The following are the category finalists for the Athlete of the Year awards to be presented at the dinner at the National Championships being held in Whangarei on 2 – 4 March. The committee has endeavoured to consider all relevant performances with a special thanks due to Michael Wray for compiling a spreadsheet of all significant events participated in by NZMA members.

Women

Sprints Frances Bayler, Sheryl Gower, Veronica Gould, Chris Waring, Liz Wilson

Middle distance Christine Adamson, Sally Gibbs, Gail Kirkman, Loris Reed

Long distance Christine Adamson, Sally Gibbs, Judith Stewart
Hurdles Frances Bayler, Gail Kirkman, Louise Martin
Jumps Lois Anderson, Gail Kirkman, Judy Hammond

Throws Raylene Bates, Marcia Petley, Glen Watts, Justine Whitaker

Combined events Tui Ashe, Barbara Austin, Raylene Bates, Jill Hayman Walks Daphne Jones, Corrine Smith, Jacqueline Wilson

Men

Sprints Trevor Guptill, Ben Potter, David Reade

Middle distance Ian Calder, Ian Carter, Andrew Davenport, Tony McManus Long distance Richard Bennett, Steven Day, Peter Stevens, Michael Wray

Hurdles Paul Daborn, Andrew Davenport, Laurie Malcomson
Jumps David Anstiss, Jim Blair, Brian Curry, Tuariki Delamere
Throws Jim Blair, Mark Cumming, Laini Inivale, Brian Senior

Combined events David Anstiss, Brian Senior, Trevor Wilson Walks Peter Fox, Eric Kemsley, Mike Parker